5 Replies Latest reply on Aug 19, 2014 4:56 AM by NickLightbody

More questions about Webdirect

PeterWindle

So sorry, I'm new to the whole webdirect thing, so if I seem a little lost, I humbly apologize.

The enclosed screen snap shot shows the difference between what a file looks like in FileMaker and what a file looks like in web-direct...

Within web direct, my record dissapears, my local graphics in a container dissapears and it all looks very wrong.

Also... yes, I understand that I can not use custom menus in web direct, but I don't want the user to perform a "find", is this possible to switch it off??

Those menus are not suitable for this solution at all, ideally, I'd like to remove all of them.

Suggestions on what might be wrong here...?

Note that this solution is using data separation, I'm hoping this is not a problem. Note also that the missing logo in webdirect is local to the "interface" file.

• 1. Re: More questions about Webdirect
          coherentkris

Follow the optimization suggestions from posts in this forum and other web sources.

Google FileMaker Web Direct optimazation.

Here is an essential video IMHO http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zS_8z9B95ic

In a nutshell...

Design a seperate interface file just for WebDirect.

Any file that this file touches must also have web direct enabled. That could explain the <file missing>

Avoid conditional formatting.

Pay attention to layered controls as they do not function as in FileMaker Pro.

Keep the layouts as lightweight as possible for data and objects.

Leverage themes to keep CSS transfer traffic to a minimum.

Why would you not want a user to perform a find? and no i dont think you can turn it off.

Good luck and have fun.

K

• 2. Re: More questions about Webdirect
            PeterWindle

Thank you so much for your reply...

Separate interface file, that's where I'm heading