8 Replies Latest reply on Aug 26, 2014 7:58 AM by beverly

Importing a file with an incosistant format

siddhant530

Hi. I'm really new to filemaker. i have used other databases such as SQL and mySQl in the past but im not very familiar with filemaker. My internship requires me to use filemaker and im struggling with importing the data into the databse. I have certain fields with the layout and i have also been provided with an excel spreadsheet that needs to be imported into the database. But the porblem with the spreadsheet is that it is really badly formatted with missing columns and skewed rows as well. The first line is not the names of the columns and there are some blank rows as well. Also i would like to ignore some of the records since they are repeats. I know that the question might be too generic but is there a way to tackle this and ignore the blank rows and columns and also to ignore the repeat records. According to what i have been reading, this would be possible through scripts. What woud be a sample script for this and what would be the best resource for finding the code for this certain script?

Thanks

• 1. Re: Importing a file with an incosistant format
          ariley

Deleting the repeating data is not necessarily your issue. You are faced with what we've all been faced with: bad data.

So, first you'll have to do some data massage in Excel, put your headers in and then you can import them into FileMaker. Or you can import it into a table as it is and then write scripts to loop through and get your data into your current table.

If you don't have FileMaker knowledge, you're better off spending the time cleaning up the Excel sheet.

I've written a solution that does exactly this: bad Excel in, good Excel out. But it was a bit of work and I have no idea what your Excel sheet looks like whether it can be converted or not. I'm sorry, but there's no magic pill here.

But that's just my two cents.

1 of 1 people found this helpful