12 Replies Latest reply on Sep 20, 2014 12:53 PM by disabled_JohnWolff

Thoughts on certification

rob_w

I have been working with FileMaker for two months.

Can you share your thoughts on becoming certified; specifically in terms of when to do it, should I take a class first, is it worth doing, do I need more experience?

Thanks.

• 1. Re: Thoughts on certification
          Mike Duncan

At a minimum, get through the training series, the first part (basics) is free and I highly recommend the advanced one when you're done with the first.

http://www.filemaker.com/support/training/fts.html

There are also many good trainers around that can help get you up speed quickly in a instructor led environment, and there's also a video training series available at lynda.com.

• 2. Re: Thoughts on certification
            jbrown

I wonder what the average level of experience one has when they pass the exam.  THe first time I took it, after 4 years of development, I failed. However, I wasn't working in it full time and didn't study well enough. I know a colleague who took it and passed with less than a year of experience.

I will say experience does help: If you're able to work with all apsects of the platform, you'll have a better base from which to draw while answering the questions. Again, I had been putting layouts together and writing scripts for 4 years, but that didn't prepare me for server and external sources.

Check out the training series. Read white papers on this site, and read FM's help itself. That's where you'll get the knowledge you need to know. DO every exercise so that you get the feel of it.

• 3. Re: Thoughts on certification
              TimDietrich

Rob --

Mike and Jeremy have given you great informaton about how to prepare for the certification exam, and what to expect.

You also asked, "is it worth doing?" That's difficult to answer, because it really depends on what you are planning to do with FileMaker.