4 Replies Latest reply on Sep 20, 2014 3:00 AM by pewi

Custom Web Publishing with PHP

pewi

Hi,

I am new to this business. I am trying to set up a FileMaker Server deployment and publish data from my database to the web with PHP. I have read "FileMaker® Server 13 Custom Web Publishing with PHP" but I can not quite figure out how to make the configuration. My question is: need the web server and the FileMaker server run on the same host or can I host my web pages with a web hosting provider and put my FileMaker Server with my database on my own Server?

Kind regards

Peter

• 1. Re: Custom Web Publishing with PHP
          robertwoods

Hi Peter. You can use any web server, so long as you install the Filemaker.php and associated files in the correct place on your web server.

Whatever that web server is, it will makes calls to your Filemaker Server running FMS13 which will return the data from your database. Your web server (whatever that is) will then insert that data into the dynamically generated web page, that will be seen in your browser.

We actually do run FMS13 on a OS X 10.9 server machine. When FMS13 is installed it installs it's own copy of Apache, and grabs the ports and disables Apache that OS X Server had installed. We ran into issues where this did not work, but it turned out to be that the OS X Server (whenever it was restarted) was grabbing back the SSL and non-SSL ports (port 80 and 443) for use with NetBoot. Once we changed the NetBoot volumes to not use those ports, FMS13 works perfectly on OS X 10.9 server.

We run one server configured in this way, and seven other servers running FMS13, and we are able to display stock data from all eight systems on a single web page, using PHP with FMS13. Magic!

• 2. Re: Custom Web Publishing with PHP
            pewi

Thanks, Robert, for your quick replay.