13 Replies Latest reply on Oct 29, 2014 5:28 PM by PalmDBS

populating fields from other tables

khymer

This is my first time using Filemaker Pro and I am stuck. I have been watching videos on Lynda.com numerous times and am clearly missing something. I am trying to create an equipment checkout system for my photography program at a college. I have three tables: Students, Equipment and LoanAgreement. I am trying to populate fields in the loan agreement from the other two tables but must not be setting things correctly in the Inspector or in my tables. I can get my first field (conactnamelast) to populate from the student table and the popup menu works but other fields are not populating. I want each student's info (name, address, A Number, class # etc) to appear on each loan agreement. I have attached 2 screen shots so yo can see my settings. Thank you for the help.

Karen

relationships.pngedit layout view.pngStudent Fields.png

• 1. Re: populating fields from other tables
          erolst

khymer wrote:

I am clearly missing something […] I am trying to populate fields in the loan agreement from the other two tables.

Karen

Karen –

what you're missing is one of the main benefits of a relational database: storing (and maintaining) data in a single place, then using it repeatedly in other places via relationships.

This means: don't copy student or equipment data into the LoanAgreements table; all you copy from these tables are the primary keys that you use as foreign keys in LoanAgreements. When these keys are set, you use the relationships to display the related data from either/both related tables – simply by putting the related fields on the LoanAgreement layout.