6 Replies Latest reply on Nov 16, 2014 4:42 AM by wfgclapp

Viewing vs Accessing records via privelege sets

wfgclapp

I'm a newbie and have what is I'm afraid an easy question to answer. I don't think I"m going to like the answer.

I want to restrict database records to particular users. I've done this using privelege sets except it's not working exactly like i'd like.

The records that are supposed to be restricted to a certain user are still visable to that user, except all the fields simply say '<No Access>'.

I would like for the user not to be able to see there are restricted users.

To restrict the resords I'm building a Custom privelege set and limiting the 'view' capability of records.

But like I said, the user still 'sees' that there are 4000 records, instead of the 1400 he SHOULD see.

Thanks for any help!

• 1. Re: Viewing vs Accessing records via privelege sets
          Mike_Mitchell

Welcome to FileMaker.

You're really asking two questions: How do I get rid of the user-jarring "<No Access>" indicators if a user does a "Find All" command that reveals records he doesn't have access to? And how do I deal with the record counter in the Status Bar that displays the total number of records in the current table and makes it obvious that the user doesn't have access to everything?

To the first: You can use a combination of Script Triggers and Custom Menus to restrict the found set when a user moves to a particular layout. The Script Triggers can automatically constrain the found set whenever you see an OnLayoutLoad event. The Custom Menu can trap the Find command so that you omit the records the user can't see.

To the second: You can hide the Status Bar, lock it, and give the user the necessary controls to navigate through the solution using buttons you provide. This prevents the user from seeing the record counter.