3 Replies Latest reply on Nov 18, 2014 9:24 AM by richardcarlton

Intel E5 vs i7 processors FileMaker performance?

taylorsharpe

I was curious. I prefer to use a Mac for development and for a development machine, I can use a Mac Pro with E5 Xeon processors or a top of the line iMac with i7 processors. Xeon processors are focused on server services and i7 processor is focused on desktop computers. There are a number of technical comparisons such as E5 has a higher base frequency but i7 has a special feature for handling H.264 video compression that is not available on an E5, making the i7 faster in video.

The main item I want to know is for a given individual FileMaker process, will the Mac Pro E5 processor outperform an i7 on a top of the line iMac? Obviously the Mac Pro is a better server to spread processes across more cores, etc., but as a developer, I'll almost always be using one core for development purposes and suspect the i7 may be faster in regards to FileMaker Pro. I wonder if anyone has a comparison? It may be that the FileMaker Service runs better on the E5 while the FileMaker Pro application runs faster on an i7. That would be logical, but I have no imperical information to back this up.

Are there any tech gurus out that there have made a comparison? I would be interested.

• 1. Re: Intel E5 vs i7 processors FileMaker performance?
          sibrcode

Taylor,

I don't think there is a correct generic answer to your question.

But if using PSoS or WebDirect heavily you are almost certainly going to want more cores on your server. Even there, the nature of the operations being done can change what is optimal. The FMS script engine, for instance, seems to make good use of additional cores unless doing things like a Find, which tend to get stuck in the main FMS database engine process. Somewhat oddly, to my mind, FM SQL expressions seem to mostly exercise the associated script engine process.