9 Replies Latest reply on Dec 8, 2014 10:44 AM by ibrahim_bittar

How to put a form and list "view" in the same layout?

yahbai

Hi there,

I'm new to filemaker, but not programming or UI design, and so have a quick "how to" in filmaker question.

I have a user table that I would like to make "manage users" layout to display/change/add/manage etc the users (ie data in the table)

I would like a layout with a (non editable) scoll-able list of all the users to allow you to see all the users and select a single user (a "list" or "table" type view), but underneath it a "form" type view that contains more information for each active/selected user in the scroll list, with perhaps some controls for adding/deleting users, modifying info etc.

From what I can see this is a form or list view to do the scrolling, coupled with a "form" view underneath it, with the "form" displaying the active field from the scroll list

What's the best way to get this done?

thanks!

• 2. Re: How to put a form and list "view" in the same layout?
          mardikennedy

Welcome!

Create a relationship, mostly likely a selfjoin (SJ) and/or cartesian.  You'll use this for your scrollable list.

Create a Form layout.  Create a portal in the upper part of the body.  (You probably don't/ may not need the header or footer.)  The portal will be based on your relationship, showing all relevant records.  Add whichever fields you need, set to 'non-enter'.

Add a simple script to the row of the portal, so that clicking it 'takes' the user to the relevant detail record, ie GTRR (Go To Related Record).

HTH,

Mardi

• 3. Re: How to put a form and list "view" in the same layout?
            jimfeuerstein

Hi, Yahbai, and welcome.

There are multiple ways to do what you're trying to do. You can certainly do it with relationships and a portal.