3 Replies Latest reply on Nov 29, 2014 8:42 PM by gilcano

Developing a tracking system for Maintenance Request

gilcano

Hi guys, I'm new to FileMaker but I'd been reading a lot and also watching some videos about FileMaker. I had some experience with Data Bases programs in the past such as DBase III, Foxpro and also developed a few application in Clipper which was originally created as a compiler for DBase III language.. Presently I'm the Director of Maintenance of a Non-for-profit organization that provide low-incomem housing for Senior Citizens and I would like to develop an application to keep track of the work performed in the units as well as an inventory of the mechanical equipment. The organization has 24 buildings and about 3600 units of housing. We handle everything with forms and I'm getting overwhelm with the amount of paper work. I'm acquaring FileMaker Pro 13 Advanced version next week. Besides I have to conduct many mandated inspections which again we keep on forms. When a form is misplaced or lost you can imagine the chaos.

Here are some of the tables I think I'll need to create my application. Please note that I'm not an expert and I’m learning FileMaker Pro. Any advice will be appreciated.

Table: Buildings (This table will hold information of each building name, address, phone, fax, etc.)

_pk_Bldg_ID

Bldg_Name

Address

City

State

Telephone#

Fax#

Table: Tenants (This table will hold the information of the tenants such as unit number, tenant name, spouse name, phone number, emergency contact, move-in date or move-out date, if tenant pass away record will be moved to a history file as well as when a tenant move-out)

_fk_Bldg_ID

_pk_Unit_NO

First_Name

Last_Name

Spouse_First

Spouse_Last

Telephone_NO

Emerg_NO

Move_IN

Move_Out

Decease