11 Replies Latest reply on Dec 2, 2014 7:57 PM by mfero

Transaction model for FM ...which is "best"

yahbai

Hi all,

I'm new to FM, but have done standard oracle/javascript client coding in the past.

I'm wanting to implement a phased system for managing my coffee shops (first expense tracking, then staff scheduling, later POS etc). I'll be doing it all in webdirect, and it will be multi-user (staff, partners etc with permission management). It will be handling financial records, so I want an explicit "new"/"modify" "save/cancel" approach to most record creation, instead of the impicit "if you leave this layout it will be saved".

So I quickly ran into the fact that FM by default has implicit commits and isn't transactional (don't flame me for saying that!).

A few googles took me into the upteen different solutions for making a standard transactional model (geist, collibri, x, y, z, ...)

So I've got a simple question (with undoubtedly not so simple answer): what's the "best" (for me at least - small concurrent users, simple DB scheme, webdirect, not FM menus/toolbars) way to implement a transactional based design?

thanks,

Richard

• 1. Re: Transaction model for FM ...which is "best"
          jormond

Todd ( geistinteractive.com ) does a great job explaining how Transactions work in FileMaker.  Not sure there is a really a best way to approach it. As long as you are in the guidelines of what serves as a transaction in FileMaker, and performance is still acceptable when you scale-up...I would say the approach is fine.

I will caution however, to fully test WebDirect fully before you commit to that route. While I am excited about WebDirect, it's still best suited for simple implementations...and you really have to know how to optimize things in FM to not choke the system. WebDirect, at this point, is very resource intensive. Even for a small number of users.

• 2. Re: Transaction model for FM ...which is "best"
            yahbai

Thanks Josh!