Don't have access to that iPad right now, but wondered if this happens if you turn off Field Access in browse mode in the Inspector. No reason for them to have access to the calc field for entry in browse mode anyway.
You're right of course. I checked the box "don't allow user to modify during data entry". That doesn't stop the text frim showing but reverts to what content were before when the record is committed.
Sent from my iPhone