4 Replies Latest reply on May 20, 2015 5:58 PM by oscarfm

Installing FileMaker Server on a server with a website

ajpinto

Hello all! I'm new to FileMaker. I have a prospective client looking for a website with possible FileMaker integration. I believe FileMaker Server is the best solution for this, but in reviewing installation instructions, I found that FileMaker Server does not allow a website installed on the same server to use port 80.

Does anyone have any experience with this? Is this going to pose a problem for me?

Any guidance is appreciated!

AJ

• 1. Re: Installing FileMaker Server on a server with a website
          taylorsharpe

First of all.. only one service or application can use a port at a time no matter what computer or operating system you are talking about. 

If you're on a Mac, then FileMaker Server is not compatible with Mac OS X Server's implementation of Web Services in Apache.  If you really are an Apache and Unix guru, you can make it work.  But the Server Admin Console and FileMaker Admin will not configure and work together.  FileMaker takes over the Apache instance on a Mac and controls it on its own without sharing web services of other web pages.  This used to not be so before FileMaker 13 came out and it is part of the programming needed to implement Web Direct. 

If you are on Windows, then FileMaker uses IIS and you can configure multiple web sites to work on it.  But I've found you had to first install FileMaker Server and let it set up its web instance and then you add the other web sites.