9 Replies Latest reply on Dec 11, 2014 8:22 AM by andyk3005

Creating a global with full record details including field names

andyk3005

Hi,

I am new to FileMaker and I am considering using it to develop and replace legacy 4GL systems built for a number of clients over the last twenty years. The product seems ideal in many respects for fast prototyping and development, however I am having some trouble with the fact that scripts and functions appear to have different techniques for addressing programmatic issues.

For example;

I want a global variable to represent the content of a specific table record and I would wish it to be general to all tables. It would be preferable to set it up as a function.

Table with Field1 and Field2

Required output

$$Table =

“NameField1; Content1

NameField2; Content2”

Procedurally I would expect to

In a script:

Address Table

Find required record

Address first field

Set variable to run function

In function:

Loop

Write to variable:

Get(ActiveFieldName) & “;” & Get(ActiveFieldContents) & <CR>

Goto NextField at end of file exit.

Goto LOOP

Any tips to address this or similar issues would be appreciated.

Thanks

Andy

• 1. Re: Creating a global with full record details including field names
          DavidJondreau

What is the purpose of this? What end-user experience are you trying to achieve?

Also, do you want all the fields or just the fields on the layout (for example primary keys are rarely accessible to the user on the layout, but every table has them).

If it's all the fields, then ExecuteSQL() is the way to go. If it's the second then a Looping script that goes to each field will probably work fine.

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Creating a global with full record details including field names
            l_allen_poole

Hi Andy -