5 Replies Latest reply on Jan 22, 2015 11:19 AM by wimdecorte

Image populates container from dynamic text prompt?

owenlucas

Making a restaurant kitchen stock database. When typing the 'item' I need corresponding image to go into container. Can this be dynamic?

Thanks,

Owen

• 1. Re: Image populates container from dynamic text prompt?
          mikebeargie

Sure, you can do it as a lookup from a table of images based on a relationship of item name.

Or just show the related image.

Or use a script trigger to lookup and place the image you need.

• 2. Re: Image populates container from dynamic text prompt?
            wimdecorte

Where would the image come from?  Do you already have a table where a record exists with "item" and its corresponding picture?

and you are selecting "items" in another table?

• 3. Re: Image populates container from dynamic text prompt?
              owenlucas

Thanks for the help fellas (I'm pretty new to this!)

Yeah, that sounds perfect. The client starts typing (eg) "carro..." and the corresponding images pops into the container (from my folder).

So I'd need to create a new table for this...?

Do you know of an online tutorial for me to follow this one through...?

Thanks again!

OL

• 4. Re: Image populates container from dynamic text prompt?
                mikebeargie

make a products table.

populate that with records containing item names and images.

relate that to your main table with a relationship of main::itemName = products::itemName

create a container field main::itemPhoto

set the auto-enter options for “looked-up value”, to look-up the products::itemPhoto (starting with table “main” get related value from “products”)