1 2 Previous Next 24 Replies Latest reply on May 13, 2015 7:48 AM by wimdecorte

Filemaker API for Ruby vs Filemaker API for PHP

binu.alexander

I am a relatively new Filemaker Developer and plan to use it for building custom solutions as a career .

I know how PHP is used quite commonly with the API for Filemaker to build CWP websites for use with filemaker server .

I do not know PHP but am planning to learn it soon .

Based on the  post Update to Rfm (FileMaker - Ruby adapter)

I see that Ruby and ROR can be used to develop websites that interact with filemaker server .

1. Is learning Ruby instead of PHP a good idea ?  Especially when I know that I may need to use Ruby and ROR   for some of my other  non filemaker work ?
      2. Will Ruby  be supported by Filemaker Server in future editions ?
      3. Is there any reason building a PHP based site as front end for filemaker  server databases   is better in the long run ?

Any insight into this will be really valuable .

Thanks

• 1. Re: Filemaker API for Ruby vs Filemaker API for PHP
          Mike_Mitchell

First, understand that I know next to nothing about Ruby (except peripherally). So take what I have to say in that context.

That said, your question 2 is basically faulty. Ruby is not supported by FileMaker at all. The clever folks who have developed the connection API for Ruby have done it on their own. Doesn't mean it's not good; doesn't mean it's not a viable alternative. But if you're worrying about support from FileMaker (as question 2 seems to indicate), then you're already on shaky ground. You'll have to get your support from the people who developed the connector, not from FileMaker.