6 Replies Latest reply on Feb 17, 2015 8:23 AM by erolst

Using Event Management Template and I have a few questions...

jigs

Using Event Management (very cool) but I have two problems:

1) I don't understand how to use the map box (I tried just pasting in the map from google, and 2) I don't understand why so many fields get cut off - shouldn't the text just wrap? Screen cap below:

Screen Shot 2015-02-17 at 6.44.10 PM.png

Thanks in advance for your help... I'm a newb.

• 1. Re: Using Event Management Template and I have a few questions...
          erolst

1. The map is a Web Viewer (a quasi web browser), and it uses a Custom Function that calculates a Google map, using values from the current record, and adjusts its size to the size of the Web Viewer object with the object name passed in the function call.

If you don't have FileMaker Pro Advanced, you can use that function, but cannot edit it; on the other hand, you could simply do (about) the same thing by using the pre-defined Google Maps template and passing in fields from the database. (Is that what you meant by “pasting in the map from Google”?)

2. The text does wrap … but you can only see the first line, since that is how the field object is set up (and FileMaker by default does not wrap within a word). Click into the field to see its complete contents.

And no, there is no function to indicate more content (like '[…]”) … but you could use Conditional Formatting to apply a smaller font size when the text exceeds a certain length (Length ( self ) > someNumber (or tweak the layout manually).

• 2. Re: Using Event Management Template and I have a few questions...
            mikebeargie

Your text is being cutoff at the field boundary, that's expected behavior and is there to keep the layout neat and uniform regardless of what data you enter.

There are a few techniques you can use to get around the cutoff point of the field boundary: