9 Replies Latest reply on Feb 28, 2015 8:22 PM by disabled_jackrodgers

Layout composition

lonewolf

Hi to everybody.

I'm new to FileMaker and I'm studing it as newbie, so my question may be silly.

I've a layout in which I show a list of customers and, selecting one of them I shoe his detailed data. I want this second form to rearrange when the user grows or reduces the window. I would like to have a layout that dinamically extend or reduce himself to the size of the window in order to fill all the space in with and also in height.

Is this possible by setting layout's parameters.

Eros

• 1. Re: Layout composition
          DanielShanahan

The script step "Adjust Window" - Specify "Resize to Fit" will do this.  If you navigate via buttons, you can add that to your existing script.  If you navigate via FileMaker's native Layout drop down, you'll need to create a script and set a script trigger OnLayoutEnter.

The script you create can simply be one line - Adjust Window: Resize to Fit.

• 2. Re: Layout composition
            lonewolf

Okay, but when I Maximize the windows it doesn't fit all the space because the body of the layout is 480 pt tall.

• 3. Re: Layout composition
              lhallberg

On your Form layout, go into layout mode. From the view menu select "Inspector" (if not already checked).  On the inspector's property tab is a section called "Autosizing".  Select an object on your layout, and check the anchor points to determine how it autosize behaves for that object(s).

For more info:

Setting auto-resize options for layout objects

-lance

• 4. Re: Layout composition
                Mike_Mitchell

Use the anchoring features in the Inspector to expand the objects on the layout. They're located under "Autosizing" in the Position tab.

inspector.png