1 2 Previous Next 23 Replies Latest reply on Apr 8, 2015 7:43 AM by TonyWhite

Team Development in FileMaker

tmslayton

Hi,

I am new to FileMaker Pro and have a team of six developers. I am considering a large project with FMP and would like to know how other developers approach development with a team?

Thanks,

Tom

• 1. Re: Team Development in FileMaker
          TorstenBernhard

Tom,

Welcome to the club!

For team development, consider the following:

- host development files on FileMaker Server

- use the data-GUI separation model

- use the anchor-buoy method for organising the relationship graph

- use a development logbook where each developer records his/her activities (FileMaker is excellent for tailoring a logbook solution to your specific needs)

You state that you are new to FileMaker. What's the level of experience of the rest of your team?

• 2. Re: Team Development in FileMaker
            tmslayton

Thank you Torsten, my devs and I have years of development experience in .NET, Visual FoxPro, PHP and SQL Server & MySQL. What is drawing me into the FMP camp is the ease and speed of development and the integrated stack. Also the ability to easily integrate iPads and iPhones.

We have a few small projects that we can do before we tackle our large one and will probably seek out some training before we start that.

Thank you again for your input.

Best,

Tom

• 3. Re: Team Development in FileMaker
              TonyWhite

Hi Tom,

Here are a few...

- Have documented coding standards and naming conventions that are well thought out.

- Have user interface standards and patterns that are documented and consistent

- Have a built in ticketing/help request system

- Have an entity–relationship diagram and other basic types of documentation to guide you.

- For training, I would recommend pair programming on real projects with experienced developers over the more basic training options. Get something done and learn at the same time.