9 Replies Latest reply on Apr 23, 2015 5:32 AM by erolst

Checkbox Script Help Please!

jjgarner

Hello everyone,

I am new to FileMaker and I would love getting some help with a Button related issue. I am currently struggling with making scripts that create, set or change the Values in a given Field.

I have a bunch of buttons on a layout, and I want them to function as checkboxes that will do an awesome script: I want a box that is checked to enter data into a specific Field in that layout.

Here is my example:

Screen Shot 2015-04-22 at 12.04.12 PM.png

So, as you can see, I want the three checkboxes on the right to be useful by defining the value of the "Multiple Birth" Field for a given person / Record.

If I click on the "Yes" checkbox, I want the "Multiple Birth" Field to have a vale of "Yes" and if I click the "No" checkbox I want the value in that "Multiple Births" Field to be "No" and so on. It doesn't have to be text; it could be 1s and 0s if that is necessary - I just want to connect the buttons to the field I want to control.

This would really, really help me out in my work and I really appreciate any and all help.

Thanks in advance!

• 1. Re: Checkbox Script Help Please!
          coherentkris

Setting up a field to display a pop-up menu, checkbox set, or other control

if you define your checkbox as having a value list of Yes No as its data source then you dont need the "blank" choice.

• 2. Re: Checkbox Script Help Please!
            thurmes

Is there any reason you want to do this with checkboxes? The behavior you describe is exactly what you get with radio buttons (you can only play one station on the radio at one time), whereas checkboxes are used for situations where you can have more than one checkbox checked (for example, a field with fruit color might show the bananas as both yellow and green at the same time). So to get what you want, set the field up as a radio button field.