5 Replies Latest reply on Jul 18, 2015 4:15 PM by bigtom

Does a FM Server performan faster than a client hosted FM database?

Hi,

I am a developer of an inhouse-CRM-solution that still is under some development. I want up to 4-5 users to test it without uploading it to the FM Server (because of data-integrity, not having scripts to synchronize the server with the test database etc.).

Now it seems that the access to the database on the developer Mac (FM 14 Advanced Pro) is very slow. Even it nothing is running on the Mac and I do not touch any keys at all - even if only one user tries to access it, the user gets quite big time lacks. If I do upload the same database to the server everything works (thanks god) fast.

My question - is it a feasible workaround to install the FM Server on the developer Mac, upload the database to that server and do the serving to the users also as developing (in the night times) on one machine till the database can get released?

Any experience or suggestions would be nice.

Best,

Luna

• 1. Re: Does a FM Server performan faster than a client hosted FM database?
          wimdecorte

Are you using FMP as the host and other users do "open remote"?

(Hoping that you don't use OS file sharing to let multiple users access the file).

FMS is a faster host than FMP is, but you should not assume that any performance problems you are seeing now will go away.  The only sure way to test is to host it on FMS and then test.  Could be some design flaws that are slowing things down.

I don't think it is a good idea to install FMS on the developer Mac.  It can be done and it will work but you really need to get a separate development/testing server.  If for nothing else to be able to take advantage of the backups that FMS can take of your dev files.

• 2. Re: Does a FM Server performan faster than a client hosted FM database?