4 Replies Latest reply on Mar 6, 2009 6:22 AM by bivalve

"Set Field" With Criteria

bivalve

Title

"Set Field" With Criteria

Hi - 

Here is what I have:

Table 1: "Employees", which includes the fields "Name" and "Salary".

Table 2: "Salary History", which includes the fields "Name", "Salary" and "Active".

(In Table 2, "Active" is a 0/1 binary field that indicates which record in "Salary" is the employee's present salary.)

And here what I would like:

I would like to set Table1:Salary equal to Table2:Salary, where Table2:Active = 1

The part that is giving me trouble is setting the "where" criteria; I'm new to Filemaker, and this step sems like it ought to be pretty simple, but I am having trouble figuring out how to do it. 

Many thanks for the assistance; it will be greatly appreciated! 

• 1. Re: "Set Field" With Criteria
          ninja

Howdy bivalve,

Welcome to the forum and thanks for the post.

Rather than post a "Script fix", may I ask a "why"?

If you already have the current salary in the Dbase, tagged with an Active Flag.  Why store it again in another place?

If Employee Table has a global field "Status" set to "1"

and the Salary history T.O. is linked to Employee Table T.O. by BOTH Employee::Name=SalaryHistory::Name AND Employee::Status = SalaryHistory::Active, then you have a one to one relationship and can use the SalaryHistory::Salary field without having to duplicate it.

Did I make sense or was I confusing?

PS. You aren't using the "Name" as a unique employee identifier are you?  This is bad juju...the relationship I typed above should be UniqueID=UniqueID instead of Name=Name.

• 2. Re: "Set Field" With Criteria
            bivalve

Thank you, Ninja, for your help.