4 Replies Latest reply on Jul 29, 2015 7:34 AM by CatherinePlanisky

"Table missing" - very confused!

user14360

Title

"Table missing" - very confused!

Hi all,

I'm new to Filemaker and trying to get my head around creating related tables to do calculations with.

I got as far as creating two different tables - one with data of sales amounts for different customers on a weekly basis for a quarter, and then another table documenting the rolling total of those sales as the weeks go by.  The "rolling total" table entries were calculations based on the entries in the "sales amounts" table.  It was all working fine until I started creating a new table for a different purpose, and was playing around with the settings, and Iseem to have done something to make the "rolling total" table go missing. When I click on the "rolling total" table in one of my layout options, every cell has the text "<table missing>".  However, when I go to manage database, the "rolling total" table still appears in the list there as being present, with the correct number of fields and records, and the fields tab shows the correct calculations still all set up.  Also, when I go into another layout mode I had saved, which draws on the data from the "rolling total" table, the data IS there.

Does anyone have any advice about where I can find that table, or what settings I might have toggled to make it think the data isn't there?

Thanks.

Cheers,

Hildy. 

• 1. Re: "Table missing" - very confused!
          Orlando

Hi Hildy and welcome to the forum.

Sounds like you may have deleted the Table Occurrence [TO] that was originally setup on for the fields that now say <table missing>. If you delete a TO after creating fields on a layout, or references in scripts, these will get broken until you repoint them, even if you recreate the relationship with the same name.