3 Replies Latest reply on Aug 15, 2011 12:23 PM by philmodjunk

'Add a Note' button

JamesClack

Title

'Add a Note' button

Hi

i'm pretty much a novice to FileMaker Pro but am loving the functions I have already explored and used to create a database for my business. I created a new databse and layout from scratch but I now want to add a button that inserts a new note for the contact record each time i press it and leaves a date & time stamp with the note (like that in the 'Contact Management' Strater Solution in FM Pro 11). Can anyone explain to me (in non-tech language please as I'm new to this - sorry) how I can create what I was hoping is a simple action? Any help would be much appreciated.

Many thanks in advance Smile

Button.jpg

• 1. Re: 'Add a Note' button
          philmodjunk

You should have a contactID serial number field defined in your contacts table. If not, add one.

Your notes should be recorded in a separate table. It should have at least the following fields:

CreationTimeStamp ( TimeStamp, set it to auto-enter the creation timestamp )
          ContactID (Number field)
          NoteText ( Text Field )

In manage | Database | Relationships, drag from ContactID in one table to ContactID in the other to produce this relationship:

Contacts::ContactID = Notes::ContactID

On your Contacts layout, add a portal to Notes and put both the CreationTimeStamp and NoteText fields in the portal. You'll probably want to sort your notes in Descending order by the CreationTimeStamp field so that the newest note is listed at the top.

Your Add Note script can be:

Freeze Window
          Set Variable [$Notes ; Value: Contacts::ContactID ]
          Go To Layout ["Notes" (Notes)]
          New Record / Request
          Set Field [Notes::ContactID ; $ContactID ]
          Go To Layout [original layout]