8 Replies Latest reply on Dec 3, 2012 8:29 AM by philmodjunk

(updated) Multiple "lookups" between two tables / multiple relationships

wilz

Title

(updated) Multiple "lookups" between two tables / multiple relationships

Im new to DB and FM.  Currently using 30 day trial version to see if this software is right for me.  My knowledge of FM is limited only to the walkthrough file. (which ive completed).  My problem is I dont know how to setup multiple relationships for two fields.  (and apoloiges as im to noob to really know how to write the question properly)

(Update: since posting i ve learnt about "lookups" and i guess im looking for a way to set up two lookups between two tables) 

Situation is this: I have two table. 

Flight Table                    Crew Table
           Flight Number                 Pilot Name
           Pilot                                 Pilot WAge
           Pilot Wage
           Origins

I currently know how to set up a relationship, so when "creating" a flight record, I can enter the pilots name, and it will give me the Pilot Wage

So DATA in my CREW TABLE is
           Record #        1                   2
           Pilot Name   George          Mary
           Pay               $100             $150

Create a Flight:
           Flight Number  : CX103
           Pilot: George
           Pilot Wage: 100 (automatically filled in)
           Origin: Hong Kong

I RUN into problems when I add in a "co pilot"

Flight Table                    Crew Table
           Flight Number                 Pilot Name
           Pilot                                 Pilot WAge
           Pilot Wage
           Co-Pilot Name
           Co-Pilot Wage
           Origins

THIS is what I WANT to see :
           Create a Flight:
           Pilot Wage: 100  <--autimatically entered
           Co-Pilot: Mary
           Co-Pilot Wage: 150 <--automatically entered

THIS is what I END UP seeing :
           Create a Flight:
           Pilot Wage: 100