3 Replies Latest reply on Jan 14, 2009 2:43 PM by raybaudi

2 beginner questions -- drop-down lists

jimd

Title

2 beginner questions -- drop-down lists & record number

I am creating a database with about 10 fields in it for research through multiple books in three different areas and I don't know how to do the following:

1. There is a field called Area with three checkbox choices in it: "Brecht" "Jazz" or "Mime".  Based on the selection in that field, I would like another field (entitled "Record No.") to autofill with a corresponding "B" "J" or "M" followed by a number, which corresponds to record number in that category.  That is, when I create a new record and then select "Mime" (in the Area category) for example, and it's the 42nd time I've created a record with "Mime" selected in the Area field, then I would like the "Record No." field to automatically fill itself with "M42".  Is this possible?  How would I do it?  I've never used a script before and don't really know how.  Would one of these help?

2. I have a dropdown menu (for a field entitled "keywords" with a value list that keeps updating itself based on values that I put in that field on other records.  It works. But I want to be able to select more than one item from the list.  The help manual says to use a checkbox instead but I expect to have  around a hundred different values (keywords) as options on the menu so a checkbox won't work.  Is there a way to have a field that lets me either write in my own word OR pick from any of the values already created for the field AND be able to select more than one.  I would like to be able to select up to about 10 different keywords from a possible hundred or so and have all 10 show up in the field for that record.  Help?

• 1. Re: 2 beginner questions -- drop-down lists & record number
          ninja

G'mornin' jimd,

Thanks for the post.

Question 1 first...Yes it's possible and Yes you'll want to use a script.