1 2 Previous Next 17 Replies Latest reply on Oct 21, 2011 10:56 AM by Snafu58

<< >> function

Snafu58

Title

<< >> function

Hello,

I am a relatively inexperienced Filemaker Pro user who has taken over maintenance of a database for work.

In one of our invoicing layouts, there is a text object that contains "Unit # - <<Unit #>>"

This shows the unit # on the invoicing layout. 

For some reason I can not understand, this text object does not show up on certain invoices.

I understand that I could replace the text object with an inserted field.

However, for my own knowledge, I would like to know exactly what the <<  >> modifier does and why it doesn't work all the time.

Also, I can not find information for these modifiers (<< >>) in my Filemaker Pro Bible!  Does anyone know where there is a list of these?

Thanks,

Chris

• 1. Re: << >> function
          mgores

Those are for merge fields.  They allow you to insert the contents of a field like Unit# in line with layout text and have it automatically adjust to the length of that text.  When you insert a field you define its size and the position of the surrounding text (unless you set the sliding options.  So if you make the field large enough to contain a long word and then enter a short word there will be blank space on one side of the field, conversely if you make the field small and enter a large word the word would get truncated.

The reason that nothing shows up in some instances would indicate that the field is empty in that record.

• 2. Re: << >> function
            Snafu58

Thanks for the response Mark.

Unfortunately, the field in that record is not empty.  It does contain a value.  However, on this particular record neither the value or the text (Unit #) shows up.

The text is "Unit # - <<Unit #>>" and on the other 35 records for this batch, everything shows up.  For this one record, neither the text nor the merge field shows up.

• 3. Re: << >> function
              philmodjunk