12 Replies Latest reply on Jun 1, 2009 11:26 AM by TSGal

A Multiple Year Field

ScottAS

Title

A Multiple Year Field

Hello, I'm a newbie with the FileMaker Pro application. I am trying to put together a database of people that have been to a summer camp over many years. I am using the contact management template, but I need a field in which I can put multiple years, e.g. 2006, 2007, for those contacts/people who have been to the camp multiple and/or consecutive years. Is there a way to do this? I would appreciate any help at all.

Thank you,

Scott 

• 1. Re: A Multiple Year Field
          casey777

One way would be to use a field containing checkboxes for the applicable years. You can do searches for the years, and they could be displayed on the input layout. You would, of course, need to add additional one as time goes forward.

If you want to include camp counselors and such, you would add a related table so that you could later pull up a counselor and see the campers he or she had during particular years. To do that you would use a portal on the campers layout and add a new record for each year along with the additional information for that year.

• 2. Re: A Multiple Year Field
            ScottAS

That would be great, although I'm still learning portals. However, the camp goes back to 1950 so to have all those years in a form like that would take a lot of space up, yes? Is there a textual way to just type in multiple years into a field?

Thanks for responding!,

Scott 

• 3. Re: A Multiple Year Field
              comment_1

You could type them into a Text field as a returned-separated list. The net result of this is the same as using checkboxes.

The real question here is what do you intend to do with this information later - since there are some limits to this format. A better way would be to enter into them into a portal as individual records in a related table, as suggested earlier.

• 4. Re: A Multiple Year Field
                ScottAS