6 Replies Latest reply on Aug 11, 2014 10:48 PM by KhaliMartin

A Novice Nightmare

KhaliMartin

Title

A Novice Nightmare

Hi

Can anyone help? I am quite new to this so the simpler the solution the better.

I have 5 fields that can have a currency value: Costs A, Costs B, Costs C, Costs D, Costs E

I also have a field called Total Other Costs.

I am trying to populate another 5 fields so that

1.           if Costs B to E are blank 100% of Total Other Costs is added to Costs A
      3.           If Costs C to E are blank 50% of Total Other Costs is added to Costs A to Costs B
      5.           if Costs D to E are blank 33.33% of Total Other Costs is added to Coast A to Costs C
      7.           If Costs E is blank 25% of Total Other Costs is added to Cost A to D
      9.           if Costs A to E are filled then 20% of Total Other Costs is added to all

Many thanks in advance.

Khali

• 1. Re: A Novice Nightmare
          SteveMartino

This seems like a very complicated design.  What if your business model changes?  You will have to go back and change all the percentages, or if you have more then 5 fields.  If you could explain a little more what you are trying to accomplish, it would help.

Also, why 5 additional fields?  Seems like (to me) you have five cost fields, and a miscellaneous cost field.  Then you want another cost field that acts as some kind of way to add a premium to the original cost field.

Where do the initial values come from for Costs A-E?

As an example, lets say you have 5 costs fields

Costs A:  $500.00

Costs B:  $400.00

Costs C:  $300.00

Costs D & E are empty

Total Other Costs: $600.00.  In your post, The total calculated costs should be: $1200.00 (A,B,C) + $200.00 (33.33% of Total Other Costs) which = $1400.00.  Do you need to have A, B, C, now adjusted, or Total Other Costs adjusted?

Where/how do you want that shown? On an invoice, etc.?  Do you have a sample file or layout that could provide more detail?