4 Replies Latest reply on Feb 10, 2010 1:07 PM by RickWhitelaw

A possible solution to Filemaker printing problems

RickWhitelaw

Title

A possible solution to Filemaker printing problems

Hi,

I've been working to get around what I find to be a problem in Filemaker: scripting printing is convenient and simple, but the "Print" script step involves printer selection. The printer selection then becomes "hard-coded" in a given solution. When it's used on another computer with different printers the print scripts are no longer functional. 

I'm a Mac user (10.6.2) and nearly certain this will work only on a Mac. As well, I've tried it out on only three printers . . . swapping jobs between them. 

Error trapping is not implemented in the scripts yet.

I'm a complete newbie as far as command line scripting is concerned, and the shell scripts below likely need more work, but they function.

One final caveat: in the process of exploring various OS commands, I had to re-install the driver for one  printer. I don't believe any of the scripts below caused this.

The basic idea: rather than scripting printer selection, script the "task". Users Assign printers to particular tasks in a preferences table. The Printer Preferences layout is  available via the menu in the event a user connects a new printer or disconnects one. If there's only one printer, the same printer name can be entered for all tasks.