1 2 Previous Next 24 Replies Latest reply on Nov 14, 2012 9:24 AM by Varndawl

Account access based on specific field entry

Varndawl

Title

Account access based on specific field entry

I want to assign records to specific representatives so that when they log into their account (via web browser) they see a list of ONLY their assigned records. They will then have full access to those records and NO access to any others.

So where do I start with that? I currently have it set up as a drop-down box with the 10 representatives' names to choose from as I create the records. Could I write a script that would only show records where their name was chosen as the representative? And would that require a different privilege set for every user?

I think it goes without saying that I'm a complete newbie here :(

• 1. Re: Account access based on specific field entry
          philmodjunk

You can use Manage | security to limit access to a specific Account or a specific Privilege Set by setting up a "lock expression" that is true only for records where a value in a field indicates that the current user has access.

This might be:

Get ( accountName ) = AccessField

or it might be:

Not IsEmpty ( FilterValues ( AccessField ) ; Get ( AccountName ) ) //for cases when there is a return separated list of names in the access field.

See "Editing record access privileges" in FileMaker Help and check out this particular sub section: "Entering a formula for limiting access on a record-by-record basis" for a detailed description of how to set this up.

When you have such controls in place, any find performed by a script or by the user automatically omits records for which they do not have access.

Here's a script that find's all records for which the current user can access:

Enter Find Mode []
               Set Field [ YourTable::Field ; "*"] ---> find all records where there is data in YourTable::Field
          New Record/Request