13 Replies Latest reply on Jun 26, 2009 4:29 PM by comment_1

Adding a dot to a map to show item location

WillGonz

Title

Adding a dot to a map to show item location

I am new to Filemaker Pro. I am doing an inventory database and I thought it would be cool to have a map of our building and have a dot show where an item is located.  I could do maps with dots added already but that would quickly eat up space in the database.  It would be better to have a picture and be able to move around a dot and store its x/y cords instead.

Thanks,

William 

• 1. Re: Adding a dot to a map to show item location
          philmodjunk

Place a small transparent field on top of each room in your map. Use a script, calculation or relationship to put your dot in the desired field.

You could use text fields and put a period in it. (Make the font size large and bold). Or put a graphic in a container field and make the fields calculations that refer to the container field.

• 2. Re: Adding a dot to a map to show item location
            raybaudi

A period is a square...

You can put some bullet texts over the map and conditionally format each one to have a red font color and size 72 or white font color and size 1.

( no field involved, only text objects )
            • 3. Re: Adding a dot to a map to show item location
              WillGonz

But would it save per record or be the same for all forms?  Wouldn't I also have to go into design mode for each one?

• 4. Re: Adding a dot to a map to show item location
                raybaudi

How many dots do you think to place over the map ?
                One for each room ?
                Each record of your DB is an item of your inventory ?

WillGonz wrote:

Wouldn't I also have to go into design mode for each one?

Only once.

• 5. Re: Adding a dot to a map to show item location
                  philmodjunk