4 Replies Latest reply on Jan 15, 2012 5:18 AM by Sorbsbuster

Adding a field to a report which adds a value to a date

pauljohn

Title

Adding a field to a report which adds a value to a date

I'm new to File Maker, and am trying to modify a report someone had previously created.

In the database the report is running from is an invoice date. I would like to display on the report/invoice a Due By date, which is the Invoice Date + 60 days, but I can't for the life of me figure out how to do this.

Could anyone provide a simple solution to this please?

Thanks in advance

PJandLiz

• 1. Re: Adding a field to a report which adds a value to a date
          Sorbsbuster

Create another field, a calculation that returns a date as its answer, with the calculation:

InvoiceDate + 60

• 2. Re: Adding a field to a report which adds a value to a date
            pauljohn

Thanks Sorbsbuster.

I've tried creating a field on the report to do this, but as I'm a Filemaker gumby, haven't been able to get this to work.

I've tried copying a field which uses something like <<Guests::Guests Phone1>> to display a phone number, and using the required Invoice Date field name + 60, but all I maange to get is (what looks like) the current time and the text I've typed in. I can't insert a field from the db as this field doesn't exist.

Any simple pointers on how to actually drop the calculated field on the report then set up the calc pls?

Thanks for your help and patience Embarassed

PJandLiz

• 3. Re: Adding a field to a report which adds a value to a date
              Sorbsbuster

"I can't insert a field from the db as this field doesn't exist." - yes, you have to create it.  I will assume you are using FM11.

I assume you have a table in the file called 'Invoices' or something similar, holding all the invoice information.