5 Replies Latest reply on Apr 23, 2012 4:03 PM by philmodjunk

Adding and Subtracting Time

JasonKrueger

Title

Adding and Subtracting Time

I am completely new to FMP, but have quite a bit of experience with Excel and Numbers, so am not complete new to writting formulas. 

I am trying to create a simple Timeclock. I have created four fields which will gather Current Time, when a coordsponding button is pressed:

Clock in, Lunch in, Lunch out, Clock out. 

I have created another field which will acumulate the total time worked in a day. I have been playing around with how to get this field's equations to funciton properly. 

I have read through many of the other forum posts on how to make this work, and have spent a couple of hours reading through the functions refference, and cannot seem to make them function properly. All of the results it is yielding make no sense.

I have tried: MOD ( Lunch in - Clock in + 86400 , 86400) as suggested on this forum:

http://help.filemaker.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/4037/kw/TIME%20subtract/session/L3RpbWUvMTMzNDk2NTI4Ny9zaWQvTjZOYVI4V2s%3D

I'm at a loss, this seems like it should not be difficult. 

Thank you for your help

• 1. Re: Adding and Subtracting Time
          philmodjunk

Lunch out - Clock in + Clock Out - Lunch in

Will compute the total elapsed time in seconds.

( Lunch out - Clock in + Clock Out - Lunch in ) / 3600

will convert seconds into hours. (Instead of dividing by 3600, you can also choose Time as the result type and format the field to display HH::MM::SS)

Use TimeStamp fields instead of time fields if there is any chance that this interval might cross the midnight hour.

• 2. Re: Adding and Subtracting Time
            JasonKrueger
            Phil
            Thank you for the quick response. I am still getting nonsensical output from these equations, and I'm not sure why. To save time I have some screen shots to show you what I see.