5 Replies Latest reply on Mar 6, 2013 12:16 PM by philmodjunk

Adding automatic invoices for repeat orders.

DanielCoxon

Title

Adding automatic invoices for repeat orders.

Hi I am working on a database to help keep track of classes and fees at my sisters local dance school. I am new to filemaker and am having some trouble. I have started with the Invoices Starter solution as this seems to be the closest to my needs from the starter solutions (open to suggestions if anyone has a better solution). I am substituting customers with the students for the school. The products are in this case the lessons offered. I would like to create monthly invoices for each student listing the classes they take and the cost. I have been able to do this manually, create new invoice and add the lessons that apply to the student. This is would be too time consuming given the number of students and classes. I would like to find a way to list the lessons each student does and have an invoice created on the 1st of each month for all these classes. Any help that can be provided would be very much appreciated. Thanks

• 1. Re: Adding automatic invoices for repeat orders.
          philmodjunk

A short term solution might be to use a script to duplicate the invoice from the preceding month. You can duplicate the invoices, and then edit the resulting invoices, if necessary to reflect any changes since the preceding month. That requires duplicating records in two tables: Invoices and INnvoice Data (Called Line Items if you are using FileMaker 11). See the script near the end of this thread for an example script that does this: Duplicating Bill Of Materials (duplicating portal line items)

A long term solution might be to use a different solution of your own design that allows you to manage student enrollment and attendance (if relevant) in a many to many relationship. A script can be run each month to generate the needed monthly invoices for billing your customers.