4 Replies Latest reply on Nov 25, 2011 12:16 PM by JonHodge

Adding the values from one field that has many records -Please help!!

JonHodge

Title

Adding the values from one field that has many records -Please help!!

Hi,

Newbie here!! I would really appreciate your help.

I have created a very simple database for an old peoples home.

They have their staff that they want to keep track of the amount of hours holiday they take.

I created a portal within the staff database on a new tab called HOLIDAY!

There are only three fields , DATE FROM, DATE TO and NUMBER OF HOURS LEAVE

As a member of staff asks for leave they put in the dates and the admin input how many hours they have taken.

I have created out of the portal on the same tab a field TOTAL HOURS TAKEN

I would like a total from NUMBER OF HOURS LEAVE but when I use  sum it only inputs the first record and not a sum of them all!

Is there a simple way to do this please? I did look at changing TOTAL HOURS TAKEN to a summary field but NUMBER OF HOURS LEAVE was greyed out.

I would appreciate any help.

Thanks,

Jon

• 1. Re: Adding the values from one field that has many records -Please help!!
          philmodjunk

What data type is Number of Hours Leave? It should be of type number, not text. this is probably why it is greyed out.

There are two ways to compute the total of values shown in an unfiltered portal:

In the parent table, define a calculation field as:

Sum ( PortalTableOccurrence::Number of Hours Leave )

In the portal table, define a summary field that computes the total of Number of Hours Leave. (I'd guess Number of Hours Leave is text and that would explain it being "greyed out".)

The calculation field with Sum will update more smoothly when totaling a value in an unfiltered portal where the users edits fields that affect the total being computed.