2 Replies Latest reply on Jan 13, 2011 8:38 PM by NigelDalton-Brown

Advice much appreciated for newbie regarding ER diagram

NigelDalton-Brown

Title

Advice much appreciated for newbie regarding ER diagram

Hi all, after many many years, I've come home to FM and loving it....  so much so that I went out, bought the book (Missing Manual)  and trying to work through it.  Anyhow, I was wondering if someone could give me some advice as I've got myself into a never ending mental loop.  By the way, I'm not a database designer or anyhting so am definately in newbie territory.

Here's the situation...question at the end..BTW am using FM PRO 11

I'm a small business, (employees = me) and I'm setting up a sales pipeline tracking database.  this will generate a whole pile of TO-DO's associated with each OPPORTUNITY, i.e Phone John to set up an appointment; send Tim the proposal etc.   I'm selling to multiple people in large companies and so have multiple OPPORTUNITIES, with multiple PEOPLE in the same COMPANY

COMPANY (Customer) ------< PEOPLE / OPPORTUNITY ------< TO-DO  .........all refering to revenue raising opportunities

My difficulty is that as a one man band, I also have a whole pile of PROJECTS, i.e stuff I have to do but that are not OPPORTUNITY related,   e.g. set up stuff for trade show in August, update website details, update my accounts,  log product change request.  At the moment my plan is to have

COMPANY (Supplier/Partner etc)  ----< PEOPLE / PROJECTS   ------<  TASKS  .........all refering to non revenue raising stuff I have to do.

My question/difficulty is that

1. TO-DO and TASKS are effectively the same thing, i.e. activities I have to complete. Should they be in the same table or separate tables?
      2. Are PROJECTS simply OPPORTUNITIES with a revenue value of $0.  my trouble is they have compeltely different attributes.
      • I need to be able to run reports on just OPPORTUNITIES, i.e. my sales pipline