1 Reply Latest reply on May 28, 2009 10:13 AM by TSGal

Advice needed from newcomer!

TheNimbleOne

Title

Advice needed from newcomer!

Hello There!  I am completly new to this and also too writing in forums, so I apologise now if I waffle on, my spellings crap and if this is really really really basic stuff!!  Before you read this, also you should understand that although i don't really know anything about the program and about programming databases I am exceedingly willing to learn, and pick up new things quite quickly ...

I came across File Maker Pro by accident at the weekend and downloaded the free trial, which inevitably lead to me to spending the entire weekend playing the program (and not doing any washing up) and thinking about the advantages it could bring to the company I work for.  I had never used it before and have never designed or created a database before on a program, but it seems easy(ish) to use for a complete novice ... so far!  

Originally i just wanted to use it to replace our current Excel Spreadsheet for our Media Library, which contains over 5,000 entries, which fortunatly i can import from Excel,  and having played around with it I have devised a new system on FMPro (It has several faults at the moment, but i'm learning daily!)  Having played for a few days and briefly shown it to one of my bosses they think it is a great idea, so basically I have until my trial runs out ... another 20 odd days ... to prove that this is going to be a fantastic & efficient way to run our media library.  (I will post my problems with my current database shortly!)

Anyway, so whilst working on my library document my mind started wondering playing and with a few other ideas and I was wondering if anyone could shed some light on the things that I think are possibly possible and how easy they are for me to do!