4 Replies Latest reply on Sep 29, 2014 12:59 PM by JosephMauriello

Advice/Guidance: Importing data from flat file

JosephMauriello

Title

Advice/Guidance: Importing data from flat file

Hi All,

We've been using filemaker for almost a year where I work to keep track of participants in a research program. We previously used excel. When we first switched over to filemaker, someone simply imported the excel file into a single table. 

Recently, we realized that we need a more robust solution. I volunteered, since I have some experience programming data driven web sites. 

I've built a somewhat complex, multi-table solution that fills all of our needs, and now the time has come to import the old data. Is there a good way to do this, maintaining the relationships in the data without the need for doing it manually? 

The old table has no reliable ID field (though I suppose I could make one?). Even if I did, my new solution has it's own ID convention that I'd rather not loose... I suppose I could use a calculation that created the id and use that to populate the Primary Key field in my new table, but then would I be able to add auto-incrementing once the import has been done? 

Has anyone done something like this? Can you offer any advice? Thanks!

• 1. Re: Advice/Guidance: Importing data from flat file
          philmodjunk

To avoid manually linking the data after importing it, you'll need some sort of value in your imported data that reliably identifies which rows of imported data should be linked to a common record in another table. That might be a name, an email address or a value that you add to the data before you import, just to name some possibilities.

Exactly what you will need to do will depend on the data you import, what tables need to receive data from that import file and how you've linked those tables in relationships.