7 Replies Latest reply on Feb 2, 2012 9:50 PM by philmodjunk

Age Calculation in two fields

JoseHowardBustos

Title

Age Calculation in two fields

Hello 

I'm a physician trying to develop a database for a patient follow-up. I'm having a hard time trying to figure out the best way to calculate ages. Does anyone know how to write the 2 formulas for this?

I have 4 fields: 1. "First visit date" (this is entered manually) 2. "Date of Birth" 3. "current age" 4. "Age of first visit"

I want the "Current age (in years)" field to show the patient age based on the current date (system date) and that updates automatically.

and the other field: "Age of first visit" to show the age (in years) of the patient based on the field "First visit date"

Any help will be deeply appreciated.

• 1. Re: Age Calculation in two fields
          philmodjunk

The key to getting the age to update automatically is to use a field of type calculation and select "do not store..." after clicking the storage options button.

The calculation you'd use for Current Age:

Let ( D = Get ( CurrentDate ) ; Year ( D ) - Year ( Date of Birth ) - ( Date ( Month ( D ) ; Day ( D ) ; Year ( Date of Birth ) ) > D ) )

For age of first visit:

Let ( D = First visit date ; Year ( D ) - Year ( Date of Birth ) - ( Date ( Month ( D ) ; Day ( D ) ; Year ( Date of Birth ) ) > D ) )

• 2. Re: Age Calculation in two fields
            JoseHowardBustos

Hello PhilModJunk

Thank you for helping me out. Well, It sure does calculate the the age in both fields. The only thing is that when I first enter the first visit date it displays in the "age of first visit" 2011. Also the age result is one year ahead.

If i first enter the "Date of birth" (November 7 1980) without filling the "first visit date" in the "Age of first visit I get -1981 and "Current Age" 32

When I fill both "First visit date" and "Date of birth" I get as a result 32 which is one year ahead of the real age.