8 Replies Latest reply on Dec 29, 2010 4:45 PM by eibcga

Aggregate functions

eibcga

Title

Aggregate functions

Hello all,

I'm a beginner using FMPA11v2 on a Mac and created a solution to analyze financial transactions in various ways.

Attached is my Relationships Graph, a "General Ledger" layout based on the LEDGER table, and a list of new Summary fields I added to that table so I can get some statistics from each account on the layout.  Also shown are other numerous LEDGER table layouts I use to analyze accounts in various ways (by the way, "FSA" stands for Financial Statement Area).  In addition to the existing aggregate functions I've added to the General Ledger layout using Summary fields (Total of, min, max, avg, stDev, count), which all work as intended, I would also like to add Variance.  Since there's no Summary field for Variance, I figured I would need to use the Variance function.

As you can probably tell, the General Ledger layout is a cross-tab report, where the Debit and Credit columns are based on IF statements that put the value from the Amount field in the Debit column if the amount is positive, and in the Credit column if the amount is negative.  I then use Summary fields to aggregate the Debit and Credit fields in various ways, all of which work as intended.  I also use functions to compute the average of each month or quarter on numerous layouts by having to use the GetSummary function (see attached).  Again, everything works great so far.