4 Replies Latest reply on Oct 10, 2011 8:43 AM by philmodjunk

Alter value list according to access priveledges

MikeJackson

Title

Alter value list according to access priveledges

Hi, I am relatively new to Filemaker and have been asked to add some functionality to an already built database. I have been asked to restrict access to a drop down menu. The menu as it is, is restricted to allow only administrators to use this menu to change the type of record, however now they would like some of theses values to be accesible to staff members.

Would I be correct in assuming that in order to do this I would need to set up conditional value lists or is there a method where I can swap the value list to another once the level of priveledge has been ascertained.

• 1. Re: Alter value list according to access priveledges
          philmodjunk

I'd use a conditional value list for this.

is there a method where I can swap the value list to another once the level of priveledge has been ascertained.

Well you could have two layouts that look identical but for the value list used in this field. Your scripts that control user navigation can then select the appropriate layout for a given user. The downside is that you now have two nearly identical layouts to maintain and this means any future layout design changes have to made exactly the same way twice to keep these layouts the same in all other aspects.

If you are not sure how to set up a conditional value list for this, let me know and I'll describe that approach in more detail.

• 2. Re: Alter value list according to access priveledges
            MikeJackson

Thanks PhilModJunk, I think I will try the conditional value list first, there are a lot of layouts to maintain, however may try also as learning excersise. I will definately give you a shout if I get stuck. Thanks again.

• 3. Re: Alter value list according to access priveledges
              MikeJackson