5 Replies Latest reply on Feb 27, 2012 10:54 AM by philmodjunk

Am I on the right track here? How can I solve this many to many problem?

DanF

Title

Am I on the right track here? How can I solve this many to many problem?

Second post today, I'm on a roll! Okay so I'm new to FileMaker and relational databases, thus I need help. First of all, looking at the attached screenshot, am I on the right track here, i.e. one contact can have many photos but not the other way around, and the same goes for shoots and photos? I'm just learning here, so comments are much appreciated. Ignore my field names, as I'm just exploring for the time being.

Now for my dilemma. One shoot can have many locations, yes, but one location can also have many shoots! How do I deal with this and how does it apply in the real world? This for a photography business database, though it will hopefully eventually have many more tables. Like I said, just exploring for the moment while I learn Laughing

Screen_Shot_2012-02-23_at_6.13.19_PM.png

• 1. Re: Am I on the right track here? How can I solve this many to many problem?
          philmodjunk

All looks good until you get to the many to many relationship for shoots to locations. What you have won't work as you would have to enter identical information into Fk_Location01 and FK_Location02 before it could match to any record in Locations.

Many to many relationships almost always require a Join table and that's what you should use here.

Locations----<Location_Shoot>----Shoots

Locations::PK_LocationID = Location_Shoot::FK_LocationID
          Shoots::PK_ShootID = Location_Shoot::FK_ShootID

You can place a portal to Location_Shoot on a Shoots layout to list all locations used for that Shoot. You can put a portal to Location_Shoot on a locations layout to list all Shoots that used that location.

Here's a demo file on many to many relationships you may find helpful: http://www.4shared.com/file/dZ0bjclw/ManyToManywDemoWExtras.html