5 Replies Latest reply on May 14, 2015 4:30 PM by philmodjunk

Am I on the right track?

SharonWorthington

Title

Am I on the right track?

I am brand new to FM, learning through a step by step book, but due to time constraints I wanted to check if I have the concept right? I'm concerned that I might be thinking this all wrong. I am thinking that I would build a table to contain timekeeping records and use other tables as lookups for each of the fields i.e., employee, task, location?

I started reading the look up process and am wondering if I have my concept correct. I thought I should do a "sound check" as I build this data base. It will be loaded onto an IPad from a windows desktop and an update email sent from the Ipad daily to load into the db timekeeping table possibly using a form?

I am so "Access" trained I need to wrap my head around a whole new way to build it seems.  Thanks so much.

• 1. Re: Am I on the right track?
          philmodjunk

Access and FileMaker are both relational databases. If you ever used the "relationships" form in Access to set up relationships in Access, this is not terribly different from Access. (But in Access, this is an option as you can choose to set up all relationships inside SQL queries where in FileMaker it's pretty much a requirement.)

Yes, related tables for other types of data employees, tasks and locations makes sense for FileMaker as in any other relational database. But they might not be lookup tables as this term is commonly used. "Lookup" frequently means to copy data from a related table into the parent table. That will not be necessary for what you describe in most cases though referencing the data in the related table will be.

• 2. Re: Am I on the right track?
            SharonWorthington