11 Replies Latest reply on Aug 22, 2012 2:05 PM by philmodjunk

Amateur FileMaker Pro 12 User

KatherinErkens

Title

Amateur FileMaker Pro 12 User

I am very new to FileMaker and have never created a database.  I'm pretty confident that I can do it but I'm having trouble with the design of the database. I want to create a table that lists various raw materials and their costs and another table that breaks down the final product by the % of the several raw materials used to create the product.  I then want to be able to show the cost breakdown of each product by the % of each raw material used.  I believe I have a many to many relationship which I understand makes things more difficult.  Does anyone have any suggestions that might help me?

• 1. Re: Amateur FileMaker Pro 12 User
          philmodjunk

You may or may not have a many to many relationship. You might have this many to many relationship:

Materials----<Material_Product>-------Products

Materials::MaterialID = Material_Product::MaterialID
          Products::ProductID = Material_Product::ProductID

Where you have one record in Materials for each type of material used to make at least one product. And one record in Products for each product produced. Each record in Material_Product identifies one Material used in the production of one product and includes a a qty field that records how much of that material is needed to produce a unit quantity of your product. Material_Product is often referred to as the BOM or Bill of Materials.

The unit cost for each material would be listed in Materials.

You can use a portal to Material_Product on a Products layout to construct the Bill of Materials for a given product. A drop down list can be used to select MaterialID's by name. THis is very similar to a typical invoicing set up, BTW.