8 Replies Latest reply on Jul 4, 2010 8:37 AM by FentonJones

Analysing databases

dana_1

Title

Analysing databases

Hello,

I am new to FileMaker Pro (10). I want to analyse the existing databases and list the following information for each database:

Tables

Fields

Relationships    

Databases that are linked to the database

What date was the last entry added

How can I do each of these activities?

Are there other good analytical tools in FileMaker Pro 10?

I have read-only access.

Thanks,

Anad

• 1. Re: Analysing databases
          Steve Wright

There are some pretty good analysis tools for Filemaker Pro databases, however these require that you create a DDR (database design report) which requires the advanced version  (FileMaker Pro Advanced)

The DDR itself will give you the information you require on fields / tables / relationships etc, but you can take it a step further using tools such as 

http://www.goya.com.au/baseelements  ( something I use on a daily basis)  or

http://www.beezwax.net/solutions/inspector  ( I used in the past but had issues with larger files, still a good tool though)

As for the 'what date was the last entry added' Im assuming you mean user input here, in which case you can create a field for creation date & modified date to track this.

Having read only access of course is another problem, if not a show-stopper altogether.

• 2. Re: Analysing databases
            dana_1

I don't have the Advanced version unfortunately.

I have read that you can use File > Define > Database to view tables, fields, relationship etc. I don't see this option. Is there any way I can see this (even if I have to apply for read-write access)?

Thanks.

• 3. Re: Analysing databases
              fitch

http://fmhelp.filemaker.com/fmphelp_11/en/html/passwords.13.5.html#1027727

"The Full Access privilege set is the only one that permits access to the Manage Database dialog box in order to modify fields, tables, relationships, and data sources."