14 Replies Latest reply on Mar 1, 2010 2:59 PM by TenaciousG3

Animation art database help needed - Help!

TenaciousG3

Title

Animation art database help needed - Help!

Hi All,

I'm fairly new to Filemaker, and this forum, so please go easy on me!  I tried searching for what I was looking for before posting this, and some things seemed to fit, but it's such a specialized application it's tough to get the full answer I need.  Hopefully you out there in Filemaker land can help.  It's a bit tough to explain so I hope I make sense:

I'm creating a database to track art for an animated TV show. There are 2 kinds of art that need to be tracked, black & white line art and colored art and each needs to include a preview image.  Each piece of line art has its own unique serial number which is retained for each episode that same model design appears in throughout the series.  The line art record is the "anchor" record to which any color art variations would need to relate to.  Multiple color variations of that line art model must link to the same line art record with the same serial number in a way that also allows me to retain certain information from the "anchor" record, create color variation specific information (like scene numbers) and also print, track, view, and create reports utilizing all the color variations individually. A lot, I know.

For example, say I had a model of Homer Simpson in his normal costume and the serial number was 1001. We have 10 different color variations of that "1001" model: a day version, night version, firelit version, etc. that all appear in different episodes. With the line art record as the anchor, I need to be able to do a few things:

1. I need all the color variations of Homer in that same costume be viewable from the anchor record as a preview.

2. I need to be able to click on the preview of an individual color variation and have it take me to the record for that variation.