8 Replies Latest reply on Jan 22, 2009 4:50 AM by unieater

Any help on filtering for a portal?

unieater

Title

Any help on filtering for a portal?

I have contact database with a field called PCode.

I have a reference database that has 4 fields:  PCodePrim, PCodeRel, PCodeNum, and PCodeSec.  

The reference database maps the level of a relationship between two contacts.  So there are 4 codes for PCodeRel (A,B,C,D) and then PCodeNum represents the unique number of PCodeRel for that PCodePrim.  

The relationship that I have created is Contact:PCode is used to link to PCodePrim which has multiple records with unique PCodeSec which should point back to Contact:PCode. 
      I'm trying to create a filtering mechanisms so for each unique PCodePrim and PCodeRel Group will be called into a portal.

Any thoughts on how to filter for identification in portal?

Sorry about lack of technical writing as I'm new to this.  

Posts are great resources so I want to thank all contributors.

• 1. Re: Any help on filtering for a portal?
          TSGal

unieater:

Thank you for your post.

I have read your post three times, and I'm still unsure what you are trying to accomplish.

I'm assuming PCode in Contacts links to PCode in Reference?

For every PCode entered in the Contacts table, you should see all occurrences of PCode in the Reference Portal.  If you want to do any filtering, you can edit/modify the relationship to include additional criteria to limit the records even further.  This is done by pulling down the File menu and selecting "Manage -> Database".  Click on the Relationships tab, and click on the icon that is attached to the link between the two tables.  Put in additional criteria and click "Add".

If this isn't what you are trying to accomplish, then please provide an example of what is occurring and what you hope to occur.

Thanks.

TSGal

FileMaker, Inc. 

• 2. Re: Any help on filtering for a portal?
            unieater