AnsweredAssumed Answered

Append user-added text to related field's value list

Question asked by CharlotteLasek on Sep 18, 2014
Latest reply on Sep 18, 2014 by CharlotteLasek

Title

Append user-added text to related field's value list

Hi all you experts,

I'm working on a DB for our events company. I’m just learning how to use relational value lists and it's working well, but I also need the ability to take a user's custom value and add it “backwards” to the related field’s value list. 

[Warning: This is long! I want to make sure you have as much info as possible to understand what I’m working with.]

I found this thread add to value list but it didn’t work, I think because I don’t need a new record. I also found this http://www.onepartharmony.com/custom_functions_one_function.php?function=32 but I’m not exactly sure what to do with it. I tried adding it as a calculation to my text field, but I got an error on the Clean_Trailing function. Maybe it’s custom… Oh well.

So I’ve pretty much exhausted my searches and I’m hoping someone here can help. It could be that I just don’t know the right terminology to find the answer I need, in which case I apologize for taking up so much space.

Anyway, here’s my setup:

Table1: Geography 
Fields: Country, StateAbbrev, Cities

Table2: Events
Fields: EventCountry, EventState, EventCity
Relationship 1: Geography_EVENTCountry::Country = Events::EventCountry
Relationship 2: Geography_EVENTState::StateAbbrev = Events::EventState

Table3: Clients
Fields: ClientCountry, ClientState, ClientCity
Relationship 3: Geography_CLIENTCountry::Country = Clients::ClientCountry
Relationship 4: Geography_CLIENTState::State = Clients::ClientState

Table4: Vendors
Fields: VendorCountry, VendorState, VendorCity
Relationship 5: Geography_VENDORCountry::Country = Vendors::VendorCountry
Relationship 6: Geography_VENDORState::State = Vendors::VendorState