5 Replies Latest reply on Jan 20, 2014 5:00 PM by PaulWirth

Approve changes during or after importing records?

PaulWirth

Title

Approve changes during or after importing records?

Hi everyone,

I'm new to Filemaker. I have a database of contacts that I want to occasionally import new data into from a csv (essentially because that's the only way I can save new data on my iPhone for Filemaker without paying to use a FM server and using FM GO)

When I import the new csv-based data, I'd like to set up a script to allow me to approve or deny any changes to matching records either as they come in, or afterward—potentially in a dialog box, the way the "OS X" Contacts app notifies you when you have conflicts or duplicates after it attempts a sync. Keeping both old and new values would be a good option to include as well.

Any ideas? Thanks in advance.

Paul

• 1. Re: Approve changes during or after importing records?
          philmodjunk

(essentially because that's the only way I can save new data on my iPhone for Filemaker without paying to use a FM server and using FM GO)

This is not the case. I routinely use FileMaker Go (which is free) and FileMaker Pro without using FileMaker Server. I can use FM GO connect to a copy of my DB using FileMaker Pro to host my database. This only allows a limited number of clients, but that may be all that you really need. And I can copy my FM GO database file to my computer and then either import records into it or import records from it, moving the data to or from a FileMaker Pro file. (And you might be able to set this up to happen all from your iPhone with the right design.)