All variables (local and global) and all global field values are specific to a given user. Changes made to the values of these will not be visible to other users and will not be retained when the client (of a hosted solution) closes the file.
(changes to global fields are retained when modified on the Host or a local file.)
I was 95% sure that to be the case. Thanks for the crazy fast reply!! Have a great weekend.